February 19, 2021

COLUMBUS, OH – The Ohio Mayors Alliance Board appointed members to two recently formed standing committees. The Mayors and Police Chiefs Leadership Committee and the Mayors Education Advocacy Leadership Committee will help advance the coalition’s policy priorities, with a specific focus on education and public safety.

The members of the Mayors and Police Chiefs Leadership Committee will include a mix of mayors from both parties and police chiefs from a diverse array of communities across Ohio. Appointed by the Ohio Mayors Alliance Board, the members of this committee are: Beavercreek Mayor Bob Stone, Canton Police Chief Jack Angelo, Cincinnati Police Chief Eliot Isaac, Euclid Mayor Kirsten Holzheimer Gail, Lima Police Chief Kevin Martin, Middletown Mayor Nicole Condrey, Springfield Mayor Warren Copeland, and Youngstown Mayor Jamael Tito Brown.

“We are bringing this committee together to enhance the work we started last year with our Police Reform Support Network,” said Ohio Mayors Alliance Board Member Columbus Mayor Andrew J. Ginther. “This committee will be an important forum for elected leaders and law enforcement professionals to come together around issues of justice and public safety.”

Additionally, the Board of Directors also appointed the members of the Education Advocacy Leadership Committee, which include: Akron Mayor Daniel Horrigan, Athens Mayor Steve Patterson, Dublin Mayor Chris Amorose Groomes, Elyria Mayor Frank Whitfield, Lakewood Mayor Meghan George, Lancaster Mayor David Scheffler, and Toledo Mayor Wade Kapszukiewicz.

“Educational attainment and workforce development are critical to the health and vibrancy of our communities,” said Ohio Mayors Alliance Board Member Findlay Mayor Christina Muryn. “This new education committee will build on the work we started in 2019 to promote college advancement and support Ohio’s educational attainment goal for 65 percent of Ohioans to have a degree, certificate or other postsecondary workforce credential by 2025.”

The Ohio Mayors Alliance is a bipartisan coalition of mayors in over two dozen of Ohio’s largest cities. Earlier this year, the organization announced its policy priorities for 2021, which include a focus on Recovery, Resiliency, and Equity. OMA’s policy priorities can be viewed here: https://ohiomayorsalliance.org/2021-policy-agenda/.