June 10, 2019

COLUMBUS, OH – During the Ohio Mayors Alliance’s (OMA) membership meeting in Columbus on Friday, the mayors welcomed the new membership of the chair of the Mayors’ Partnership for Progress, Athens Mayor Steve Patterson. The Mayors’ Partnership for Progress is a coalition of mayors and city managers from 15 counties in southern and southeastern Ohio.

“I am thrilled to represent the Mayors’ Partnership for Progress in this coalition,” said Patterson. “Bringing the voices and concerns of southeast Ohio to the table will ensure the unique needs of our local governments are heard by the other mayors, state officials, and federal officials.”

The decision to extend membership to the Mayors’ Partnership for Progress was made to ensure the Ohio Mayors Alliance is representative of the various regions in Ohio and is addressing the challenges in every corner of the state.

“We are excited to have Mayor Patterson join our group and bring his experience and insight into the conversation.” said Dayton Mayor Nan Whaley. “By bringing in the voices of these local leaders to our group, we are better able to advocate for policies that will benefit every resident in the state.”

Additionally, at the meeting, Mayors Cranley of Cincinnati, Ginther of Columbus, Mulligan of Middletown, and Whaley were all re-elected to serve on the board of the OMA, guiding its policy priorities and advocacy activity for the upcoming year. They join other board members, Mayors Scheffler of Lancaster, DeGeeter of Parma, and Don Patterson of Kettering.

The OMA is a bipartisan coalition of mayors in Ohio’s largest cities. It has been working to strengthen the partnership between state and local leaders since its formation in 2016. For more information on the group’s policy priorities and its members, please visit: