Akron Mayor Horrigan Appointed to Bipartisan Ohio Mayors Alliance Board

October 12, 2021

Columbus, OH – Akron Mayor Dan Horrigan has been appointed by his peers to serve on the Board of Directors of the Ohio Mayors Alliance, a bipartisan coalition of mayors in over two dozen of Ohio’s largest cities. Horrigan has served as the mayor of Akron and as a member of the Ohio Mayors Alliance since 2016.

“The Ohio Mayors Alliance plays an important role in helping to bridge the divide between state and local leaders,” said Akron Mayor Dan Horrigan.  “I’m honored to serve on the Board of Directors and I look forward to continuing the important, bipartisan work of this organization.”

“We’re thrilled to have Mayor Horrigan join the leadership team,” said Columbus Mayor Andrew J. Ginther. “Mayor Horrigan is a proven leader since he began his career in public service over 20 years ago. Horrigan is a strong advocate for his hometown and for his state.”

“Mayor Horrigan’s practical, no-nonsense approach makes him a perfect fit for the Ohio Mayors Alliance Board,” said Findlay Mayor Christina Muryn. “We’re glad to have him on the Board and we look forward to our continued work together.”

Horrigan was appointed to serve in the vacancy on the board that was created when Cincinnati Mayor John Cranley announced his candidacy for Ohio Governor. While stepping down from his leadership position on the board, Mayor Cranley will remain a member of the coalition.

The Ohio Mayors Alliance nominating committee recommended Mayor Horrigan to the board. The nominating committee is comprised of the board members of the Ohio Mayors Alliance Foundation, former Governor Bob Taft, former Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman, and former Cleveland Mayor Jane Campbell, as well as Executive Director Keary McCarthy.

Horrigan will join the bipartisan Ohio Mayors Alliance Board, which also includes Columbus Mayor Andrew J. Ginther, Findlay Mayor Christina Muryn, Kettering Mayor Don Patterson, Lancaster Mayor David Scheffler, Parma Mayor Tim DeGeeter, and Youngstown Mayor Tito Brown.